Thesis Committee

The Thesis Committee is comprised of at least 5 members, including the Thesis Advisor.  The committee will help guide the student throughout their independent research until completion of their PhD Degree. The student and Thesis Advisor will choose four other faculty members to serve on the committee. At least one of the four additional members must be in a different department than the Thesis Advisor. Three of the five committee members must be trainers in the Biophysics Program. It is recommended that students form their Thesis Committee soon after beginning in their lab, but this should be done by the end of the spring semester of the student's first year in the Biophysics Graduate Degree Program.
Once a committee is formed, the student should schedule a meeting with all committee members that should be completed by the end of the summer after their first year of graduate school.  The purpose of this first meeting is to introduce everybody, to discuss the student’s research area and determine appropriate steps to complete the program requirements, including suggesting courses for the student to take. The next formal meeting is typically when the student is defending their oral prelim (the written prelim does not require a face-to-face meeting with the thesis committee). After a successful oral prelim defense, students should  continue to meet regularly with their committee throughout their progression in the Biophysics Graduate Degree Program. These meetings must happen at least annually, and are to be accompanied by a Progress Report (see Yearly Progress Report tab, form is available under Current Students tab)