Administrative Structure

The Biophysics Graduate Degree Program is an interdepartmental program administered by the Institute of Molecular Virology and supervised by the Biophysics Steering Committee. The Steering Committee is made up of the Biophysics Chair (Meyer Jackson), program, staff, faculty, and students. The committee advises the chair on matters of program policy, planning and coordination of activities. Major responsibilities of the Steering Committee include admissions decisions, trainee selections, new trainer selections, advising students, and serving on thesis committees. See the contacts section of this handbook for a list of Steering Committee members.
The Biophysics Graduate Degree program consists of over 40 faculty members that span multiple departments and colleges across UW-Madison. The interdisciplinary nature of Biophysics generates interaction among traditional areas of science and allows students to choose a Thesis Advisor from a wide range of areas. In addition, state-of-the-art facilities are available within the Biophysics Program for research topics such as x-ray crystallography, fluorescence spectroscopy, microscopy and imaging, and computational chemistry.